The New Year and the New Shortlist!

Janurary first and time for The 2013 Cybils finalists!  My first year participating in the awards process, and I had a ton of fun.  Read a lot of great books in total.  We had to get the list down to just seven, and I think the shortlist looks good!  Here’s our picks for the Middle Grade Speculative Fiction category:

Jinx by Sage Blackwood (HarperCollins)

Lockwood & Co.: The Screaming Staircase by Jonathan Stroud (Disney-Hyperion)

Rose by Holly Webb (Sourcebooks, Jabborwocky)

Sidekicked by John David Anderson (Walden Pond Press)

The Rithmatist by Brandon Sanderson (Tor Teen)

The True Blue Scouts of Sugarman Swamp by Kathi Appelt (Atheneum)

The Water Castle by Megan Frazer Blakemore (Walker Books for Young Readers)

For the full blurbs about these and the finalists for all categories, visit the Cybils website.  Now to see what the final round of judges picks from this list . . .

Have you read them all? Comments welcome!

About Stephanie Whelan

I'm a children's librarian with a life-long love of all things science fiction and fantasy.

Posted on January 1, 2014, in General Posts, Lists and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’ve read only two of these… super annoying, since I was focussing on this category for the Armchair Cybils. Those two were Jinx and The Rithmatist, and I really loved both of them. I have Rose out from the library right now, and didn’t quite get it to in 2013, and I think I have The Screaming Staircase on hold – so those were at least on my radar as potentially important. I guess I will have to track down the other two as well, now!

Leave a Reply

