Art Interlude: Favorite 2013 Covers

With crazy end of school days upon us, here’s a quick art post until I have a bit of time for more!  Here are a few of my favorite SF and Fantasy covers for 2013 so far!

The Real Boy by Anne Ursu (Walden Pond Press, Expected Publication September 2013,)

I love this cover for Anne Ursu’s newest book.  It’s appealing and interesting without giving away too much, and without being so blatantly fantasy that no non-fantasy reader would pick it up.  Given that this is a quieter and smaller story in some ways with a very unusual take on magic and world-building, I’m happy to see a cover that matches the story.  It too easily could have wound up with a kind of bland geographical scene like The Floating Islands cover.

Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin by Liesl Shurtliff (Alfred A. Knopf Books, April 2013)

I’m also a sucker for a good plain old fantasy cover like this one.  Glittering pixies,  ragged children,  foreboding castle with a silhouette of a spinner . . . what’s not to like?  I tend to like this softer art style on covers.  I think this art captures perfectly the tone of the book (if it were a high action adventure tale I wouldn’t be so happy with it) and I’m glad the author got such a gorgeous cover for her debut novel.

Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell (Simon & Schuster, Expected Publication September 2013)

Okay, I may be cheating a wee bit here.  Rooftoppers is not quite fantasy . . . though it is rather fantastical.  This lyrical, whimsical and imaginative story blew me away when I read it.  The delicious word play just delighted me, and the idea of traveling through the city of Paris via rooftop is indeed fascinating.  In addition to being a marvelous story, it has a stunning cover.  It really captures the essence of the story for me.  It’s one of those books that makes me want my children to be older so that I can share the story with them. (At 2 and 4 years, they’re a bit more prone to  Billy Goats Gruff and Curious George.)

Sidekicked by John David Anderson (Walden Pond Press, Expected Publication June 25, 2013)

Admittedly, I love softly drawn cover.  But I can appreciate  when the art fits the subject.  I happen to think this is a brilliant cover.  It gives us our hero, it deftly signals “superheroes”, it cleverly portrays the title, and all of this with simple line and color drawings, reminiscent of comic book style art.  It is, IMHO, a very decent “boy” cover.   And it’s subtle enough that readers who might no normally pick up a book about superheroes might crack this one open all the same.  Hopefully they’ll get as caught up in the story as I did!

Doll Bones by Holly Black (Margaret K. McElderry Books, May 2013)

If you’re looking for a great creepy cover this year–I think this is a winner!  This is a book I probably wouldn’t leave facing out on my bookcase at home.  Creepy dolls that might be possessed by something definitely are not the kind of image I want to run across while curling up in bed at night!  It’s a perfectly tantalizing image to lure in readers–as well as signaling to those who might be less inclined to enjoy spooky, that this book might not be for them.  A great story that blurs the lines between fantasy and reality and I’d recommend to anyone who likes a good ghost tale.

Handbook for Dragon Slayers by Merrie Haskell (HarperCollins, May 2013)

Another stunning fantasy cover.  With rich, soft colors and our main character featured  on the cover watching the shape of a dragon in the distance, I was immediately drawn to this.  Ms. Haskell had a gorgeous cover for her last book The Princess Curse (2011), but I prefer this cover, which gives us hints of what might be going on in the plot of the story.  I think many of my regular fantasy readers are going to snap this up as soon as they see it.

So those are my quick favorites so far–what are your favorites?  Please share!

About Stephanie Whelan

I'm a children's librarian with a life-long love of all things science fiction and fantasy.

Posted on June 21, 2013, in Art Interlude, General Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

