It’s alive! It’s alive!

After years of dithering around the subject I decided that perhaps, just perhaps it was time to get my geek on and embrace the blogging world.   So ladies and gentlemen and readers of all ages (and realities) welcome to Views from the Tesseract, a blog exploring children’s science fiction and fantasy.

As a children’s librarian of many years, I know and love children’s literature.  As an unapologetic science fiction and fantasy fan since the cradle I remain a fervent reader and fangirl.  Now,  a little mad scientist-like I’m going to combine these two loves,  set my blog up, hit the switch and see what happens.

Zzzzaappp!!

Truth be told, I’m  hoping for something a little less lurching than Mary Shelley’s monster in Frankenstein,  but may take a little time to get my feet under me and really get things rolling.   Here, I’ll explore the past, present and speculate on the future of children’s science fiction and fantasy, there will be reviews, and lists and  a lot of wonderful links to other things out there.  Rather than focus on YA or adult books, my goal is to keep this devoted to children’s works.  There are many fine reviewers of YA and adult SF and Fantasy out there (I’ll be adding them to my blog list), I wanted to tackle the middle grade and younger set.

Within the age range, I’m going to open the floor to all manner of speculative fiction and see what we can discover.  I hope you’ll join me in the adventure!

About Stephanie Whelan

I'm a children's librarian with a life-long love of all things science fiction and fantasy.

Posted on January 17, 2013, in General Posts. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

